all posts post new thread

Barbell Grease the Groove for Bench Press?

Status
Closed Thread. (Continue Discussion of This Topic by Starting a New Thread.)

Saint

First Post
Hi, I'm new to the forum and I'm looking for advice on how to apply grease the groove to my bench press.

My goal is to bench press double my bodyweight.

Info about me:
-Male
-25 years old
-135 lbs, 5'8"
-Bench press 1RM (perfect, strict form): ~145 lbs
-Bench press 1RM (bad form-- bouncing weight off chest, elbows flared, butt off bench): 215 lbs
-I have a bench press at home, and I work from home so I can bench pretty much any time I want to
-I previously used grease the groove back in 2012 to great success to do a 1-arm chinup after about 1.5 months of training
-My joints and shoulders don't have any issues as far as I know; I've never had any major injuries and I've been lifting for about 7 years

As of now, my current plan was to start out benching with perfect form at 125 lbs (85% of my perfect form 1RM), doing a set about every hour, for as many reps as I can without feeling tired... which is about 2-3 reps. I've got a pair of 1.25lb Olympic plates and I was planning on just increasing the total weight by 2.5 lbs every day.

Does this sound optimal? What would you guys recommend?

Thanks!

Sounds like a plan. People have had good success with a GTG approach on the bench press.

You might not progress at the linear rate you outlined - 2.5 lbs every day. I think that will get a bit much after 3 or 4 weeks. I could be wrong though, it could be OK for the early stages of your progress.