all posts post new thread

Old Forum great T nation article on heavy swings

Status
Closed Thread. (Continue Discussion of This Topic by Starting a New Thread.)
Jeffrey,

I think I get what you are saying. I am similar to you in that I have a sendentary job and have no physical performance needs to guide my goals. But with that being said with the time and energy I do put into training I want to feel like what I am doing is some of the most effective "stuff" I could do.

I am no scientist but we know that the sedentary individual who does anything is a improvement but lets take that a little further and give them a tool and a time frame,less is better. The swing just wins and one who moves further in weight and even to double swings are going to become more explosive and stronger.

I have had much  healing in my back from  swings and as far as total strength and carryover ,how strong does one need to be? surely strength is a need and good posture,flexibility,speed and health but there is a point when one just tests what they can do and that actually has nothing to do with anything but personal goals,in my opinion.

Brandon I'd like to hear more about this guy you got to go form 32 inch vertical to 38 inch... that is a remarkable improvement!! he must have been thrilled and fist pumping when he got that 38 inches is damn high

I do not plan on throwing the baby out with the bath water.  I will think that swings are a great exercise no matter what.

Does this have something to do with the difference in ballistics and grinds?  How much strength gained from doing ballistics is available for grinds?  In other words, If I get stronger from swings, but don't practice grinds, and then pick up and carry a heavy object, which would be a grind, I believe that I would have been better off having practiced the swings.  But, will I have a weakness exposed from not having practiced grinds?