all posts post new thread

Old Forum Grip strength, need advice.

Status
Closed Thread. (Continue Discussion of This Topic by Starting a New Thread.)

BCman

Level 6 Valued Member
I have used CC2 for grip strength a little bit, but was wondering if getting captians of crush would be better?  I'm a martial artist, and would like to get alot stronger hands.  Would like to here what some of you do to train your grip.

Thanks Al

Hi Allan

I personally am using the Captains of Crush (#1) and I love em. Can really feel an improvement in my grip strength.

I guess it depends on what part of your hands you want stronger. Do you want improved grip? Improved crushing? So many variations of hand training...

I use the CoC for grip improvement and overall hand strength. Once I can close the #1 fully numerous times, I plan to but a #2.

You can also do things like farmer's walks or bottoms up with kettlebells.

here's a crazy idea... does your martial art use a gi? if so, use your gi for "towel chins" (they're gi chins now) and CC2 grip progressions.

My martial art is okinawan karate.   So I would say striking and grappling.

It's the grappling where I find I'm lacking grip strength.  I just ordered some COCs a few hours ago.  Thanks for the replies.  I've always had a weak grip, but never really trained the grip directly.I use to do wrist curls back in the 90's, got somewhat stronger, but never did a dam thing for my grip strength.

Allan, for punching you need strong crush grip and wrists. COC work well, so do bottom-up kettlebell drills.  Plus, work up to a couple of reps in the one-arm pushup on the seiken—this will improve your punching power more than most exercises.  High rep two arm pushups on seiken do not have that effect.

For grappling do heavy one-arm kettlebell swings and/or rope climbing.

Pavel, thank you very much.