all posts post new thread

Old Forum Grip strength training

Status
Closed Thread. (Continue Discussion of This Topic by Starting a New Thread.)

aputschoegl

First Post
After listening to Pavel on the Tim Ferriss Podcast I wanted to start doing grip strength training to increase overall strength.  I have started with 100 lbs of resistance but found that it's much easier with my right hand compared to left.  Any suggestions on how to go forward with this?  Should I wait until left catches up with right and do the same number of reps on each side and then move up in resistance once they feel even?  Any suggestions would be great.  Thanks.

Adam, pretty funny - I listened to the same podcast and immediately ordered 100 lb grips as well.  Haven't gotten them yet though.  I'm no expert, but it seems to me that Strongfirst is quite accepting of one side of the body being stronger (i.e. the strong side and the stronger side).  Maybe buying a stronger grip for your right hand would be the way to go instead of waiting for the left hand to catch up to the right one.

Hi!

Do you practice the basic tension techniques for increased strength? If not, read Pavel's The Naked Worrior or Power to the People!.

My experience is that the coordination of the stronger side is more developed which results in an involuntary partial tension technique on that side. Adding tension voluntary and practicing the coordination and the skill to tense your muscles harder will probably help even out the difference between your right and left side.

Best regards, Henke in Sweden

Adam-  I listened to the same podcast and shortly after got an ironmind zenith gripper #1 and a couple others too.

http://www.ironmind-store.com/Zenith-1-Fitness-Gripper/productinfo/1476/

On the standard Capt of Crush #1 I tested myself and can get 2.5 closes on my right and almost 1 on my left.