all posts post new thread

Other/Mixed Grip Strength

Other strength modalities (e.g., Clubs), mixed strength modalities (e.g., combined kettlebell and barbell), other goals (flexibility)
Status
Closed Thread. (Continue Discussion of This Topic by Starting a New Thread.)

morrisda

Level 2 Valued Member
All

I am 51 yrs old, and although a decent High School athlete (30 yrs ago), I just started lifting weights again in Jan. I am making good progress, for example I started with basically an empty bar and now I am deadlifting about 325. All lifts are progressing.

My issue is my grip strength or lack there of is catching up with me.

Many of the exercises I do require me to utilize my grip already, but I think I need to do some more to strengthen grip without over training grip.

I do have some of the Captains of Crush grippers.

What recommendations do you all have to incorporate some specific grip trining into my lifting.

Dan

Dan, welcome to StrongFirst!

There are many approaches you could take. If you look at what we teach here, you'll find we often recommend a combination of pure strength and strength-endurance work.

In my experience, grip benefits from this combination. I would add kettlebell swings to your program. You may also attack the problem with the barbell in your hands. For your deadlift, try doing some lockout holds - when you get to the top of your DL, just hang out there for a few seconds, crushing the bar. You can work this into your regular DL training as long as the weights don't place you near your grip limit, e.g., if you're doing sets of 5, just hold the final rep for a few seconds at lockout before you put the bar down.

My experience has been that, when my DL grip is my limiting factor, kettlebell swings will help me break through - and also the converse, that when I'm having trouble holding onto my swings, some heavy deadlift training will help me.