all posts post new thread

Old Forum Grip Training W/Captain Crusher

Status
Closed Thread. (Continue Discussion of This Topic by Starting a New Thread.)

BenC414

Level 1 Valued Member
Hello,

I recently listened to Pavels Podcast with Tim Ferris. So much awesome information as I am new to Strong First.

I was wondering how many of you train with the Captain Crushers from Iron Mind.com. What has your experience been? Do you feel it has really helped your lifts/Kettle bell and day to day life? Thanks!

I have some. They're pretty good. I usually only used them for 3 weeks out of 12 as my last exercise of the day once a week and did some other type of grip work the other 9 weeks. I'm going to start using them in a GTG fashion like Pavel recommended next week.

Some time ago I heard someone say that the way to flex your rotator cuff was to make a tight fist.  I am pretty sure that can be traced back to Gray Cook, although the person I heard say it was not Gray Cook.  That got me to thinking that working the grip might be a way to work the rotator cuff.  Some time later I heard Pavel say that working the grip and core would make everything else stronger.

A month or so ago I ordered a set of 5 COC grippers, 3 IMTUGs to work my thumbs, and a set of bands to work the extensors.  After buying my grippers I heard Pavel's recent interview, which confirms in my mind it was good to buy the grippers.

I bought the set of five grippers because I didn't really know where I was, or how fast I would progress.  I bought the range from the Sport to 1.5.  I bought IMTUG from 1 to 3.  I can't tell you which COC I am spending most of my time on right now because it is classified, but it is more than the Sport.  I can tell you this much, by the time I am ready to buy the COC 2 my hands will be quite a bit stronger than they are now.

I feel comfortable working my thumb and first two fingers with the IMTUG 2, but the IMTUG 3 is still a bit too much.