all posts post new thread

Off-Topic Has anyone been helped by chiropractic care?

pedevowi

Level 1 Valued Member
I've recently started seeing a chiropractor for poor posture and occasional back/ neck pain.

I knew I had Scoliosis but after getting x-rays it turns out I have a 30-degree curve in my spine and it looks pretty bad.

My neck is out of alignment as well and my shoulders and hips are uneven.

I'm wondering if this is contributing to my symptoms and if it is possibly an indirect cause. How can the body function properly if it is so out of alignment?

Has anyone else felt better after seeing a chiropractor? It is pretty expensive so I'm hoping it at least helps a little. So far no changes but I've only had a few adjustments.

Reactions: Ege
Folks, let us please _not_ turn this into a referendum on the value of chiropractic care in general - that happens often when a question like this is asked. If you've had personal experiences, that's what being asked for here.

@pedevowi, welcome to the StrongFirst forum.

-S-

This is just my experience with 1 single chiropractor: I have found it to be useful depending on what's bothering you, but it will from be dependent on finding a quality chiropractor. In my experience, the Dr I've used/recommended to others and really felt like he knew what he was doing has said that I'm most cases any issue that he is going to help with should be taken care of within a few visits and some at home exercises. He's adamantly against practitioners that insist on a regiment of multiple visits a week indefinitely.
I have recommended this particular chiropractor to several people and everyone was happy with their results.

My brother in law has gotten some good relief using chiro, I did not. I suspect if you go to them with a good diagnosis of your issues you’ll have a better outcome.