all posts post new thread

Barbell Heavy set guy... building strength skills... trying to run as a sport...

Status
Closed Thread. (Continue Discussion of This Topic by Starting a New Thread.)
I have been practicing this method for the last several months, and am only just now getting to the point where I can jog continuously for an hour and keep a low heart rate.
jogging slow at low heart rates really is an art, and no small one.

But at my current pace, it doesn't get in the way of lifting heavy things (no achy joints), which is the higher priority.
slow low impact running can actually support lifting through better recovery.

Focus on getting strong, don't invest any pride in your running yet, but don't give up the practice.
+1

there are a few helpful pointers/foci:
- high stride rate (around 180 steps per minute - lessens the impact greatly. My default rate was 160-164. For the last weeks I make an effort to make faster steps than I feel 'comfortable' with. Now 180 is almost my new default. My slow jog can almost feel like sprinting, quite paradox. Generally stride rate goes down with fatigue so it provides a measure to end the jogging.)
- rythmical breathing all through the nose
- mid/forefoot stride with flat/minimal shoes. I actually prefer forefoot stride: I never had any issues with hips or knees. But in the past my achilles tendons got slightly tender. Not anymore.
Takana compares forefoot stride to sprinting stride. It is (mild) plyometrics with every step
- active arms with 'open arms' (a bit mire than 90 degree angle)
- gaze straight to the front

I see slow jogging as 'strength training':
- for the slow twitch fibers
- for tendons and cartilage, soft tissue
- for the aerobic system using fat for fuel
- for the 'temperature system' of the organism: keeping cool in heat, kerping warm in the cold
Slow jogging actually is the 'ultimate' contralateral reset and resilience builder. This whole package can't be replicated otherwise. And it is dirt cheap...