all posts post new thread

Barbell High reps are good for beginners?

Status
Closed Thread. (Continue Discussion of This Topic by Starting a New Thread.)

Minimalist

Level 2 Valued Member
I have read most of Pavel's books about strength and I know he recommends to do more sets with reps 1-5 range to build strength.
I heard from strength trainers, that beginners should train with low weights in 8-10 rep range, because they need to learn the technique. In my opinion better would be train with more sets and like Pavel is saying with low reps.

What do you think about it?

I like both. For example: deadlift was done with low reps (<=5), but hip hinge after/before that is done with high reps (up to 20).

In general, yes. Absolute beginners would begin by building up muscular endurance which involves a higher rep range and lighter weights. If you are unsure or not able to work with a professional then bias towards bodyweight training such as pullups, pushups, squats, lunges, etc....for several weeks to build a base.

Thank you.
I thought making more sets with the same volume would be better, because we concentrate more in well technique than making more reps.

Beginners should just be careful to stop in either reps or weight when there is a form breakdown. Greater load induces form breakdown, and is more pronounced in those who haven't built good patterns of form through repetitions. Neural adaptation and adaptation of Golgi tendon response will allow rapid progress initially regardless. Bodyweight work can be inneffective in this for failure to induce either of those responses in addition to being radically different on form and execution.