all posts post new thread

Nutrition How is losing weight through exercise different than through fasting?

Status
Closed Thread. (Continue Discussion of This Topic by Starting a New Thread.)
I would say exercising is more stressful. There is a limit to how much stress one should take and it builds up in the long run.

Can you clarify the question?

I worked as a PT for a fair while and I'd say that 'exercise' is too broad a category. People who lost weight from running looked different to those who lost it through HIIT looked different from those doing strength training etc.

There's also a 'different strokes for different folks' component. Some people will only stick to one and not the other.

IMO it's a sub par strategy....it's much easier to not eat a donut then work off the equivalent calories (and then some)
The problem with exercise as a WL strategy is that it's time and energy consuming. What happens when your revert back to the old strategy? you gain weight. Though the same concept happens with eating, it's far less stressful to the body to maintain a reasonably better caloric quality/quantity intake than it is to maintain excessive exercise volume long term

I agree that diet is more important than excersise, in terms of the overall energy balance...

But what about strength training? Do most of you accept that if one strength trains while losing weight, that this can help ensure that the weight lost is skewed more towards fat vs lean body tissue?

I think that there is something to this. In fact, when I want to lose 10 lb or so, I usually do the following:
- reduce calories by about 500/day (most of this is carbs)
- % protein (of daily calories) actually increases
- minimalist strength training program, cut out most other excersise (because my energy levels will be lower. For example, maybe train the 3 powerlifts or derivatives once per week and nothing g else!
- I ramp up how much walking I do

When I want to gain weight, I do the exact opposite: