all posts post new thread

Barbell How long to take bench from 187 to 220?

Status
Closed Thread. (Continue Discussion of This Topic by Starting a New Thread.)

BillTanof

First Post
A month and a half ago i benched 85 kg(187lbs) at 128 lbs(58 kg).It wasn't really hard for me to hit it considering i was pretty fatigued from previous sessions.I have been lifting for apprximately 8 months and lately i have been using a 6x/week push pull legs split(done 2x a week),with 1 rest day.I have been consistently eating 2800 calories per day.I am pretty sedentary outside lifting(some occasional biking).So,considering all of the above,how long should it take?Thanks in advance!

With intelligent programming and hard work I think you can get there in a reasonable period of time. But your question is impossible to answer, especially since we know nothing about you.

The easiest way to improve your bench press is to gain weight. But that may or may not be aligned with your fitness goals or health.

Heavier squats will help bring up your bench weight. Gaining weight helps. Having a spotter so you can go as hard as you are capable also helps.

Too many variables to say how long it might take.

pay attention to form and follow a good program, and it's just around the corner. chase the number and a sore shoulder or torn pec could make it months or years away. I never use a spotter when I bench (which hasn't been very often)...and don't go into territory where I one. The most serious injuries I've seen in gyms are when there's a gaggle of young guys benching and screaming "you can do it, man! etc" at each other. Saw a total pec tear once...real agony, and his "buddies" all scurried off.

ps- not trying to be argumentative with North Coast Miller, just a different gym culture. If you do chase maxes, etc. with bench, use a spotter. Just please don't yell all that stuff if I'm around! haha

Last edited: