all posts post new thread

Bodyweight How To Mount Rings

Status
Closed Thread. (Continue Discussion of This Topic by Starting a New Thread.)
@Joe Silva, you're welcome!

I'm not a gymnast - never have been, nor do I play one on TV. :) But I've gotten strong enough from the other things I've done that I can manage some of the things you mention.

How does changing the height of the rings change the difficulty of an archer pullup? I've done these on a few different setups lately and haven't noticed any difference. (The only thing I did notice was not liking how my rings, which are over a chinup bar, slid sideways when I did archer pullups, hence my desired for fixed-width mounting points, although the height will still be adjustable.) I'm new to archer pullups but was able to do one each side on a bar the first time I tried them, and can do a few back-and-forths on rings pretty easily.

I can see it for a muscle-up - higher is harder because lower allows you to cheat on the muscle-up part and just work on the support position.

For a Skin the Cat, I can't imagine what the difference would be. If someone has trouble curling themselves around to get into the StC, I can't imagine they'd have the strength to get out of that position. As I've worked on these, I've gone deeper but it's just a question of how far I let myself go around and not related to the height of the rings.

Mantle pullups - I had to look that up. I've done something similar on a pullup bar in a frame (like a TAPS) by grabbing the upright with the other hand, and I've always found them and similar variations pretty easy - I always felt like I was cheating because being able to push down on the other hand took away so much of the difficulty for me. I've also use a rope for the other hand and, again, it seems like too much assistance to me.