all posts post new thread

Barbell Ideas For New Training Schedule

Status
Closed Thread. (Continue Discussion of This Topic by Starting a New Thread.)

WhiskyTango

Level 2 Valued Member
Hello All-
So some of you might remember me from a few months back. I was looking for help with a training schedule with my temporary schedule. Thanks again to all of you that took the time to give me your input, especially you Anna. I have made incredible progress since February and want to keep excelling.
I am back to my normal schedule of 24 hours at work, 48 hours off work. I am a firefighter. I need a program that lets me hit my compound barbell movements every 3rd day and lets me focus on kettlebells, hiking, hills, etc. on my days off of work. The barbell compound movements I do are the low bar squat, the military press, deadlift, and the bench press. I have been staying in the 5 sets of 3-5 reps and working a linear progression with a wavy style. My body tells me when it's time to deload with the weight or volume and it has worked well. I would like some thoughts on a schedule that allows me to hit the big movements every 3rd day and do something like a S&S or RoP on my days off. My goal is to keep getting stronger and also building endurance. I am 50 yrs. old, 5'11 and 212lbs. I have lost 15 lbs since February and that is with running a linear progression so I am feeling good. I would like to lose another 15 lbs. Anyway, thanks for listening and I look forward to your feedback.

My 1RM PRs
DL- 298
SQ- 197
MP- 120
BP- 168 (wasn't consistent with this lift) more focused now.

Obviously my concern is over training and 72 hours between lifts. Although I think the recovery time may be beneficial.??

Two lifts per lifting day? In the classic split, you would do each lift once a week, or at least only hit each lift heavy once a week.

-S-