all posts post new thread

Other/Mixed Indian Club Suggestions

Other strength modalities (e.g., Clubs), mixed strength modalities (e.g., combined kettlebell and barbell), other goals (flexibility)
Status
Closed Thread. (Continue Discussion of This Topic by Starting a New Thread.)

J.C.S.

Level 4 Valued Member
Does anyone have Indian Club company suggestions? I would like to use wood rather than metal. I am looking at Revolution Clubs made in USA and of white oak (I like the Victorian models)
Revolution Clubs

I am also debating just trying my own as I have a buddy with a lathe and woodshop/experience.

Also curious about the weight for a beginner. I am reading the olde timey club book by Simon Kehoe and he suggests a six to ten pound club which I think is way too heavy for a proper movement practice BUT I am brand new to Indian Clubs. I thought the 2lb club would suffice nicely for a movement practice. I am a big guy and fairly fit (6'1", 230lb).

Thank you in advance!

I make all my clubs out of wood, the plastic ones are just too expensive here to justify the the cost. If I was in the US I probably just would have picked up a set of plastic clubs and would have been quite happy with them.

I'd suggest to start light. maybe 1 or 2 Lbs max. Even a lighter club can be a worthwhile investment. I don't really don't think of my clubs as a strength training tool for the most part (although the heavier clubs certainly are). For me they are mostly for mobility and rehab/prehab.

If you start with anything heavier than approx 2 lbs per club you just won't get the most out of them It sounds silly but even at 2 Lbs the reciprocal mass of the clubs is something you have to experience to appreciate.

Wrist mobility is a big issue with Indian clubs and I've never met anyone with the mobility to handle a big club without starting with smaller ones. It's a neuromusclar shock to the system.

Buy some smaller clubs first and then step it once you have the basics down.