all posts post new thread

Other/Mixed Indian Clubs for Shoulder Warmup

Other strength modalities (e.g., Clubs), mixed strength modalities (e.g., combined kettlebell and barbell), other goals (flexibility)
Status
Closed Thread. (Continue Discussion of This Topic by Starting a New Thread.)
Mine are homemade. They are made from aluminium with a heavy core of iron in the “head”.
One of the benefits of being a mechanical engineer I guess.
When I started training with clubbs many years ago - they were so expensive and unavailable that I had to do something myself.
0919F86F-1F0C-4DEE-A45F-30140A0A66A2.jpeg
It’s a 24kg kb beside the clubb.
Today...like kettlebells...it’s much easier and cheaper to get our hands on a pair.

I was a mechanical engineer too, in what now seems like a previous life.

They are still quite rare here and I just couldn't get a set locally, so I had to make my own too. On the rare occasions when I see them on ebay they're listed as juggling pins as most people have no idea what they are or what they are meant for.

I don't have access to metal lathe now, so I turned mine from wood. All up I've made 9 sets of clubs of various sizes & I sold most of them on gumtree. I only have 3 sets left here now.

I'm still amazed that you warm up with a set of 9kg clubs. 9kg sounds light but after a few minutes the reciprocal mass adds up and starts to turn into a workout in its own right. A lot of people class a 9kg club as club bell and just use 1 of them for a full workout.

Last edited: