all posts post new thread

Off-Topic Injuries from BJJ?

Status
Closed Thread. (Continue Discussion of This Topic by Starting a New Thread.)
Exactly the information I was looking for. I'm 49 and I've emphasized joint mobility in my training for the last few years. I logged on today to find out if 49 is too old to start as a rank beginner. This thread gives me a little hope that maybe it is not too late.

My 2 cents: I started training BJJ as my only exercise before training strength, and I got nasty injuries, including hurting my ACL badly and a herniated disc in my lower back. I had zero ego in the gym, tapped early, but when we're a white belt training with other white belts, we just don't know how to do it. Also, all injuries happened towards the end of the session, where I was already gassed out and my decisions were not as sharp as in the beginning of the day.

I believe that it should be much safer to a person who have been working on their strength and endurance for a long time. Be extra careful!

My 2 cents: I started training BJJ as my only exercise before training strength, and I got nasty injuries, including hurting my ACL badly and a herniated disc in my lower back. I had zero ego in the gym, tapped early, but when we're a white belt training with other white belts, we just don't know how to do it. Also, all injuries happened towards the end of the session, where I was already gassed out and my decisions were not as sharp as in the beginning of the day.

I believe that it should be much safer to a person who have been working on their strength and endurance for a long time. Be extra careful!
This would be my assumption as well.

I also stated into BJJ without a foundation in strength training. Was chill when I rolled, and still got injuries.