all posts post new thread

Kettlebell Introduction

Status
Closed Thread. (Continue Discussion of This Topic by Starting a New Thread.)

Gaz

Level 4 Valued Member
Hello everyone. I've been following the forum for a few months now and as I have just celebrated my 60th birthday thought I would finally introduce myself.

I have been keen on fitness since I was about 14 and started training to try to rid myself of asthma. I trained in the standard way of using bodywieght, free weights and running. I first began training with kettlebells about 15 years ago working from Pavels RKC Book and DVD.

I was a British cop and didn't get much time to train and needed something that was quick and efficient; kb's seemed to fit the bill. I was unable to buy kettlebells in the UK at that time and so ordered them from Dragondoor.

Nobody else I knew trained with them at that time and I think everyone thought that they were a bit of a fad. However, I continued with them and got Enter the Kettlebell and started work on ROP. However, I strayed from the path somewhat and started using some other Kettlebell training methods. It was while doing this that I started to pick up some nagging injuries in my shoulder and lower back and came to the conclusion that maybe my technique was faulty.

So after a good five years or so of training I decided to stop my Kettlebell training as I could not afford the time or money to get some proper coaching.

So for the last five years or so have been training purely with calisthenics. About three months ago I decided that I wanted to review my training as I was losing a bit of direction and motivation and decided to re-visit Kettlebells. That's when I came across S&S.