all posts post new thread

Other/Mixed Is there anything better than sledgehammer swinging?

Other strength modalities (e.g., Clubs), mixed strength modalities (e.g., combined kettlebell and barbell), other goals (flexibility)
Status
Closed Thread. (Continue Discussion of This Topic by Starting a New Thread.)

JW513

Level 5 Valued Member
I've been exercising faithfully for 10 years, The one thing i always wanted was to be a swinger... Well earlier this year I finally made it happen. Being in construction and a hobby blacksmith, I already pretty good.. But i remember at first my hands would kill, so i started easy, now i'm doing 16lbs swings with one arm, an 8 pounder in each arm... I love the 20 pounder. If i'm tired after work, its a light session, if not i go to town. I do my main workouts in the morning and if i miss a swing session after work i don't care.

But i really recommend it to everyone, I want to get set up to do some horizontal swings too.

Kettlebell swings and sledgehammer swings are a match made Valhalla. Swing and be one with the Gods.

As a side note, sometimes in the summer I'd switch out kettlebell for sledgehammer for the swing portion of s&s. 10x10. Alternating left and right

Chopping trees with a good axe.
You know, our friend is an arborist and he cut down a bunch of trees for my brother, he left a huge pile of logs.. I bought a maul and splitting axe and chop a few every time i go up... My brother is too lazy, i tell him he doesn't know how lucky he is to have all that wood to chop.

Don't know why but its so relaxing and rewarding.

You know, our friend is an arborist and he cut down a bunch of trees for my brother, he left a huge pile of logs.. I bought a maul and splitting axe and chop a few every time i go up... My brother is too lazy, i tell him he doesn't know how lucky he is to have all that wood to chop.