all posts post new thread

Off-Topic Jiujitsu + sleeping

Status
Closed Thread. (Continue Discussion of This Topic by Starting a New Thread.)

Gary W

Level 5 Valued Member
Hi guys, for those of you that do bjj, i just started 4 weeks ago and on days ive done rolling i get home at 8pm and like last night had dinner bath bed by 930pm and couldnt sleep untill nearly 1am to get up at 6am.
Im normaly falling asleep on the sofa at 9pm so 1 is just ridiculous for me and im paying for it at work today!

Is this normal after rolling and is there anything i can do to help me sleep?

I'm far from an expert, but typically any strenuous activities in the evening is not conducive to sleep. I assume it's a hormonal thing with cortisol and adrenaline. If you're taking any caffeine or other energy drinks or supplements to help you with your BJJ, you could stop that. Something else I would urge you to try is taking a hot epsom salt bath before bed. Other types of magnesium supplementation can help too. Do your research

If all else fails, show your wife how to put you in a rear naked choke to put you out.

Good Luck

Very normal. Used to be a major issue for myself and training partners, but we would often leave the gym between 9-10pm. One guy went as far as to change his work start time to around 10am. I think jiujitsu is particularly stimulating.

I'm the complete opposite... I usually train BJJ midday, head back to the gym (work), shower, eat, and take a nap on the couch in my office... and go to bed early. But maybe I'm just getting old.

On a serious note (not that I wasn't being serious about napping and going to bed early... but you know what I mean), try doing something relaxing... long, hot shower; reading; light stretching; herbal tea; etc.

You may end up going to bed & sleep later than your 9 PM sofa session, but it should still be better than 1 AM...

Cheers for the suggestions guys, normally a very sleepy person haha