all posts post new thread

Kettlebell Kettlebell weight progression for beginners

Status
Closed Thread. (Continue Discussion of This Topic by Starting a New Thread.)

Chrisdavisjr

Level 7 Valued Member
Hello everyone!

I'm new to kettlebells training, having recently acquired a 16kg KB as well as copies of both S&S and ETK. I've started following the S&S programme using my 16kg KB and am already making progress, however I am unsure as to what weight of KB I should be moving up to once I'm ready to move beyond the 16kg KB.

S&S recommends jumping up to a 24kg KB, which follows the logic that greater stimulation for neuromuscular adaptation is facilitated when faced with a sudden and significant weight increase however, as I am quite a small guy (I weigh around 144lbs/65kg at 5'9") and would be required to perform an SFG snatch test with a 20kg KB (as per the SFG 2017 testing standards), do you think it would be worth moving up to a 20kg first?

Hello,

@Chrisdavisjr
Welcome on StrongFirst !

I weigh around 144lbs/65kg at 5'9"
I am even lighter, but slightly taller (6'00'').

S&S recommends jumping up to a 24kg KB
Lots of people here are a bit heavier than we are. Most of them have no real issue doing these big jumps.

S&S is based on two moves that obey by rules slightly differents. Progressions can be different on these two moves.

Skinny people often progress pretty well on swings. Thus, it is possible to go for big jumps with them. You will simply have to introduce them progressively (first 1 or 2 2H sets, then, 3 and so on). This is how I did to get 40.

Related to the GUs, I am clearly unable to do big jumps. I started at 20 and did 4kg jumps until 38. Each time I wanted to test a 8kg...I lost balance and lost control of the bell so...