all posts post new thread

Nutrition Kettlebells and Body Fat

Status
Closed Thread. (Continue Discussion of This Topic by Starting a New Thread.)

Abdul-Rasheed

Level 6 Valued Member
Folks, I did a bodpod test last week and the body fat number came out to be 24%. I am a bit surprised that the number is a bit higher than I expected (especially when the electronic device or caliper at the gym always gave me the body fat of around 21-22%). I have been doing easy strength training last year and half or so using kettle bells and barbells. I feel stronger. The back pain, shoulder niggles all disappeared. The joints feel absolutely fine. However to my disappointment, there is no improvement in body composition. But, am I correct in reading that, strength training, at least in my case did not really result in fat loss? Perhaps it is my age (43)? No, I am not the elite who uses heavy weights. I am only a beginner in strength training. No, I do not have a baseline body fat number to state this for sure. As for the next obvious question, about my diet, I like to say, it wasn't horrendous all along. Generally clean; I never counted calories though. I conclude then, what is needed to improve my body composition is to count calories going forward in addition to the training. I am really thinking about a four week cycle of keto diet and then followed by a caloric-deficit diet paying more attention to the macro nutrients, particularly the carbs. Your thoughts.

Last edited:
The pain disappeared. The joints feels fine. You feel stronger.
This is a great achievement, and this is what you should celebrate.