all posts post new thread

Barbell Lifts during rest period?

Status
Closed Thread. (Continue Discussion of This Topic by Starting a New Thread.)

DASHEP26

First Post
Hi, I’m new to this so I apologise if I’m breaking any standing protocols. What’s the opinions on doing other lifts during your rest period? As the recommended rest periods for strength training are upwards of 5 minutes could you alternate between bench and dead’s to maximise time. Obviously you’d want to choose lifts that predominantly use different muscle groups. I’ve listened to Pavel say you can do other exercises during your rest period but does he mean other power lifts or more low weight/low energy exercises?

Such training is certainly possible. Pavel has recommended it for busy trainers and included doing so with the three power lifts. Rest periods were around 2 minutes and intensity more moderate but volume higher. Something lik 3 x 5 w 70 % or 5 x 3 at 80 %, maybe singles and doubles around 85 %.

Fatigue cycling was the phenomenon which suggested that alternating two lifts would allow recovery for the first lift if the involved muscle groups were dissimilar. I.e Squat and Bench Press, Deadlift and single arm press. Usually, with the three power lifts it would be more along Sq-Bench-DL-bench-sq. The bench would cut between squats to accommodate their similar nature. I’d recommend, if possible, to include a lesser spinal loaded movement after a large one, which is why in my example, I included a one arm k-bell press over standard barbell press. The bench, or other horizontal presses, shouldn’t have as much lumbar stress as a squat or deadlift.

of course, such training could work with smaller assistance exercises for different reasons. Time strapped full body could be dips, chin-ups and squats or DL done as a circuit. Such a cycle or of similar nature is good for fighters, who need conditioning on top of strength or power. Waterbury uses this method.