all posts post new thread

Kettlebell Manual work Vs gym training

Status
Closed Thread. (Continue Discussion of This Topic by Starting a New Thread.)

Jamesjones

Level 4 Valued Member
Hi guys

Hope your all well during this god awful situation.

So I work as a building services Engineer my job involves manual labour, My colleague has been in the game for most of his life he is 58 and has the strongest grip and some pretty big fore arms. Now we work in gyms doing general maintenance and repairs so we know a few of the PTs.

The PTs are pretty strong guys but when we have to move stuff or hold things up I might aswell do the job myself as they can't keep up.

I train daily with my kettlebells aswell as occasional squat dead and bench sessions.

My question is how come a strong grip and big forearms and a strength endurance work rate higher than a PT who lifts and does CrossFit style training?

Loaded carries with a variety of odd shaped objects builds this odd casual workers strength. I have my own experience with this, a few years ago I worked in a grocery store were I constantly moved 45-50lb boxes, 50-65lb bags of potatoes/onions and wooden palettes for 8 hour shifts, nothing was well balanced, had handles or was packed with the idea that someone lifting the thing. as far a gym lifts went was weaker then (I could press the 24k near the end the 28kg) and these days I can press the 40kg. hears the thing though, I recently moved some lumber around and the casual movers strength/endurance was gone. It fatigued me in a way that I never got when working a the store. Loaded carries all day everyday makes you life strong not CrossFit strong.

I think for many, the purpose of strength training is to compensate for a sedentary lifestyle. Lifts try to replicate the effects of hunting gathering or manual labor. It seems like as long as you aren't beating up your body too much, it's difficult to beat the real thing.