all posts post new thread

Mars Attacks!

Status
Closed Thread. (Continue Discussion of This Topic by Starting a New Thread.)

marvinthemartian

Level 5 Valued Member
Hi everyone!

I am out of shape guy who recently crossed into his 30s and finally wants to get in decent shape. Never been super fit. But I grew up in the country side and was very active doing martial arts, volunteer fire fighting, sports shooting, hiking, hunting and so on. 50-60 pushups and a decent 5km time when I trained for it. As a tall lanky guy eating junk food was never a problem either. Once I graduated college I just settled into the white collar lifestyle and slowly got fatter and more out of shape. Side effects like getting sweaty and out of breath and having a low libido included ;)

I started just doing some calisthenics and jump rope training after New Years eve and actually stuck to it so far. On my search for things to add I came across KBs and S&S am trying to add KB swings into the mix while trying to figure out concrete goals. Getting in shape is pretty vague. So maybe something like 50 strict push ups, the 5 min swing test and 10 minutes of unbroken jumping rope while getting down to 200lbs.

With all that being said let's log the first workout here in the forum.

11. Feb 2020 19:00
BW: 105kg / 230lbs
-10 Jump Rope warm up doing the bounce step
-Push Ups & Rows: (1 2 3 4 5) x 2, (1 1 1 1 1) = 35 reps each
-Air Squat, Swiss Ball Sit Up, One Legged Calf Raise: (1 2 3 4 5) x 4 = 60 reps each

Nothing special. Didn't do KBs today. And I didn't have much time because I had to help a neighbor with some paperwork and my GF wanted to watch a movie.

Second log!

12. Feb 2020 17:00

-S&S Warm Up
-Two Handed Swings: 20kg 10 sets of 6 + 100 bounce steps for active rest between sets
-Push Ups & Rows: (1 2 3 4 5) x 2, (1 2 1 1 1) = 36 reps each
-Air Squat, Swiss Ball Sit Up, One Legged Calf Raise: (1 2 3 4 5) x 4 = 60 reps each