all posts post new thread

Barbell Minimalist Powerlifting Training

Status
Closed Thread. (Continue Discussion of This Topic by Starting a New Thread.)

EnterSandman

Level 1 Valued Member
Hi new member here.
I am a beginner interested in minimalist training, i like to lift heavy do some back off sets and go home. My gym trainer follows the Westside Method so my program is full of assistance and bodybuilding stuff that probably i would need in the future but right now i am only interested in simple specific training.
I have also read about Malanichev and other eastern champions and i find it appealing.

This is my idea of program:

Monday:
Squat 5 heavy singles with same weight
10x3 with 80% of the singles
If i am not tired 3xAMRAP @70%

Wednesday:
Bench (same as squat)

Friday:
Deadlift (same as squat)

Last edited:
Hello,

First, welcome to the forum !

What is your goal ?
Do you know Pavel's book "Beyond Bodybuilding ? It is full of efficient lifting routines.

Be careful for adding sets / reps when you're "not tired". On the long term, you can have an additional fatigue and your rest will have to be longer. Besides, you could get injured due to bad posture (for instance)

Kind regards,

Pet'

Thanks for the reply.
I can get rid of the AMRAP sets it was just to add some volume to the lift. But id rarely do it. After 8-10x3 reps @80% i am already tired. Was just an idea.
My aim is to compete in raw (no wraps) powerlifting meets. So pure strength.

Hello,

Do you know the "deadlift daily dose" ? Depending on your initial level (max DL between 1 - 2 times bodyweight), it may interest you. This protocole is available on the SF blog.

Friend of mine used it with success, despite a pretty physical lifestyle.

Kind regards,

Pet'

Hello,

I remember an old topic with a program supposed to be good for relatively new weightlifter : Coan Phillipi Deadlift Program.

Kind regards,

Pet'