all posts post new thread

Other/Mixed Muscles Stiff After Sitting

Other strength modalities (e.g., Clubs), mixed strength modalities (e.g., combined kettlebell and barbell), other goals (flexibility)
Status
Closed Thread. (Continue Discussion of This Topic by Starting a New Thread.)

Smile-n-Nod

Level 5 Valued Member
I've been doing S&S for about six months, in addition to some martial arts, walking, and light running. My strength and endurance are definitely improved, but I've noticed that I still feel a lot of stiffness through the day after I've been sitting for a while. Even after a 30-minute drive home from work, my legs are stiff when I step out of my car.

I'm 53 years old, so I know that much of my stiffness is due simply to the number of annual calendars I've thrown away, but I'm wondering if there's any thing else I can do to reduce the stiffness? Are there dietary changes I can make? Would more stretching help (I do some, but not a lot)? Supplements? Any ideas? Thanks.

I'm 59 and can identify with the stiffness issue. I think for a lot of us it's just part of getting older. When I step out of the car I have to walk slowly for a few steps too but the stiffness goes away once I've been moving about for awhile. It's even more pronounced when I get up in the morning but quickly dissipates after about 5 or 10 minutes.

I also do S&S but I wouldn't attribute it to any of my stiffness issues because I had the same stiffness problems before I started S&S. As far as diet and stretching go I just try to eat clean and keep the stretching to a reasonable amount. Actually my experience has been that excessive daily stretching makes my stiffness worse. Joint mobility has served me better than stretching.

I can't do anything about the drive home but once I get there I make it a habit to get up out of my chair every commercial break and just walk around or do a couple of farmers carries....low intensity gtg.