all posts post new thread

Old Forum My Simple & Sinister Story or "Get over yourself and do it."

Status
Closed Thread. (Continue Discussion of This Topic by Starting a New Thread.)

ThorsFavoriteGoat

Level 6 Valued Member
I have been lifting for 20+ years, focused on being big and strong. I got my wish, but also got fat. Like probably 25% body fat at 250lbs.

March 2015 - I was about to turn 40. I was overweight, had just been put on blood pressure medicine and diagnosed with sleep apnea. Talk about a reality check. Chasing a 600lb deadlift was literally killing me.

I had to make some changes.

First, I quit drinking. I didn’t have a “problem” per se, but I was having a 1-2 servings of whiskey EVERY night. In a social setting, that grow to 3-4.

Second, I adopted a strict Paleo diet. I am lucky to live in Portland, and have a dedicated Paleo restaurant within walking distance. I am eating all of my calories between noon and 8pm, and keeping total carbs under 100 grams per day. No other calorie counting or restrictions.

Finally, I got back to the real basics of physical fitness. For me, that means at least 30 minutes of walking every day and training with kettlebells 4-5 days per week. I made the commitment to following Pavel’s Simple and Sinister. Really following it.  Nothing but 100 one arm swings and 10 get ups until I can meet the performance standards. If I get bored, I suck it up, and I stick with it. That's part of being a grown-up. The key to that has been shutting out all of the “strength training noise” that has often led me to jump to a shinier, more exciting training program. If it's not from Dan John, Pavel or another reputable SFG instructor, I ignore it.

10 weeks in, I am down 21 lbs. I don’t need the blood pressure medicine, and I have stopped snoring all together. I have had to buy smaller pants twice now. I have actually gained muscle. My shoulders, chest, abs, hips and booty are all noticeably bigger and more defined.