all posts post new thread
Other strength modalities (e.g., Clubs), mixed strength modalities (e.g., combined kettlebell and barbell), other goals (flexibility)

Fire Rose

First Post
Hi, I’m a 21 year old woman and I’m training for BUD/S (US Navy SEAL training). How should a woman prepare for BUD/S? How are women treated in BUD/S? Do you have any advice for preparation?

I’m a beginner, where would you recommend I start?

According to what some BUD/S dropouts told me, one female SEAL candidate broke her legs in Basic Orientation (BO) which is the first three weeks of BUD/S, another female SEAL candidate broke her legs in BUD/S Prep and a third female SEAL candidate got rolled back in BO for stress fractures. None of them made it.

In November 2021, a woman made it to first phase of BUD/S for the first time in history but she quit on day one after the first hour.

pet'

Level 8 Valued Member
Hello,

Plenty of ressources are available, but among them:

You can also check out the work that Stew Smith does. He is a former SEAL and does weekly Q&A on YT, and also has a great website full of resources.

There is also a wonderful book called "Building the Elite", written by C. Weller, former SWCC

Kind regards,

Pet'

Birddog

Level 1 Valued Member
Hi, I’m a 21 year old woman and I’m training for BUD/S (US Navy SEAL training). How should a woman prepare for BUD/S? How are women treated in BUD/S? Do you have any advice for preparation?

According to what some BUD/S dropouts told me, one female SEAL candidate broke her legs in Basic Orientation (BO) which is the first three weeks of BUD/S, another female SEAL candidate broke her legs in BUD/S Prep and a third female SEAL candidate got rolled back in BO for stress fractures. None of them made it.

In November 2021, a woman made it to first phase of BUD/S for the first time in history but she quit on day one after the first hour.