all posts post new thread

Barbell Need Help Strength Training

Status
Closed Thread. (Continue Discussion of This Topic by Starting a New Thread.)

Alex Sam

Level 1 Valued Member
I’m 6’6 weigh 195 and have 20% bf I’m an sophomore in high school and an basketball players

This season I was playing jv the first half of the season and benching varsity the second half of it. It took me quite to finally grow up and releazie I can get an scholarship with my height if I put the work in right now still have time in high to be able to do this.

I have done a lot of research into strength training the past few days look at many program like 5/3/1 the VJ Bible and many other programs and threads (this thread the most) and I have created my own program that will be the best the most but I want you guys to look at just so I have assurance that I’m doing the right thing and if this won’t ruin my chance at being really good in high school

I bench 135 my goal is 200 (an 65 pound increase)
I squat 185 goal is 300 (an 115 increase)
I deadlift (will use hex bar) 315 goal is 400 (an 85 pound increase)

I want to reach this goal end of June and I’m start in March (4 month period 17 weeks period) I want to have this basic of strength so i can then go do more explosive training and more ploymetrics in the summer time when the snow disappear which is best for an basketball players after getting an base of strength

The routine I will using for March is below

2 min rest for big lifts
1 min rest for accessory lifts

4 Days a week

Mon: Squat day
  • Warmup set bar only for 8 reps for each workout

• Main Lifts Lower: Barbell squat 3x5 85%1RM

• supplementary: Box Squat 4x6 70%1RM 4 sec pause

• 2 Accessory Lifts: Paused squat 4x6 65%1RM and Barbell Lunges 4x8
Tues:Bench Day

• Main Lift: Bench press 3x5 85%1RM

• supplementary: Push press 3x5

• 2 Accessory Lift: Db bench press 4x6 and Skullcrushers 4x8
Wed:Squat Day

• Main Lift: Barbell Squat 3x5 85% 1RM