all posts post new thread

Bodyweight New to Strength Training and New to Strongfirst

Status
Closed Thread. (Continue Discussion of This Topic by Starting a New Thread.)

RT23

First Post
hi,

I am totally new to strongfirst. I basically stumbled upon through Tim Ferris website and recent podcast interview of Pavel.

I am 37 years old and 6" in height. My lifestyle is sedentary and I have been working out ( I know , yes working out) on and off, primarily because I am not the biggest fan in spending an hour in the gym or even half an hour everyday. I have been doing p90x/p90x3 on and off but the problem of workingout every day hurts because a) my work schedule b) not the biggest fan in working out everyday.

Having said that I have always been fit and functional fitness was/is the target.

Functional fitness means " ability to be run, jump etc coupled with strength and muscle" . Aesthetics isnt the primary goal , but yes wouldnt complain if its incidental.

Based on a lot of reading on this blog and over thousand comments and many responses on Tim Ferris blog over the last 2 days , I have realised that I can start by buying & reading the following 2 books:

1. Power to People : Because, it seems like its for people like me who dont necessarily have goal of competetive lifting. It has a simple goal of get strong and with just 2 exercises and perhaps also with very little time investment.

2. Naked Warrior : Because, this uses bodyweight ( which sounds like very similar to p90x/x3) which is easier to follow with a substantial difference of just a few exercises done right and obviously way less time investment.

Obviously I understand things like:

1. Its hard work and I dont necessarily have a problem with that, but I am looking for efficiency and the maximum bang for the buck.

2. Importance of nutrition.

So to quicky reiterate and my goals and my question:

Goals:

1. Get strong ( assuming that muscle building is incidental to getting strong)