all posts post new thread

Nutrition Not gaining during a bulk

Status
Closed Thread. (Continue Discussion of This Topic by Starting a New Thread.)

JustWeaver

First Post
I've been eating roughly the same foods for about a month now in an attempt to bulk but my weight is continuing to hover just around 183lbs.

When I first started this I shot up from 170 to 180 within about two weeks and I got MASSIVE strength gains (I'm a rookie in the gym and this was after a short cut) then it just stopped there. Any tips on how I can improve?

One photo below is what a typical day looks like in the gym then the other is my usual eating habits. That all comes to around 3100 calories. Sometimes I'll eat more than that in the form of rice crisps or something of the like.

Screenshot_20210526-100556_MyFitnessPal.jpg

Screenshot_20210526-100618_Strong.png

If you gained 10 lbs in 2 weeks, that was mostly water weight and gut content as you would have had to eat and EXTRA 35,000 calories to gain that in actual muscle/fat. My point being, don't use that weight gain to judge anything since.

In order to gain more, you will need to consume more. Try eating 3500-3600 calories, and check again in 2 weeks to see if the scale is moving up.

On a quick glance the diet looks all right but it's impossible to say without knowing your activity levels etc.

I would recommend a strength training plan that's more focused on bigger compound exercises like the powerlifts. Do a search on the forum for 5*5, Faleev, power to the people, reload, or such.

When I first started this I shot up from 170 to 180 within about two weeks and I got MASSIVE strength gains (I'm a rookie in the gym and this was after a short cut) then it just stopped there. Any tips on how I can improve?
"The General Adaptation Syndorme"

Hans Selye, M.D.,PhD came up with "The General Adaptation Syndrome in 1923.

It was essentially based on illness.