all posts post new thread

Kettlebell One-Arm Swing Form Check

Status
Closed Thread. (Continue Discussion of This Topic by Starting a New Thread.)

jca17

Level 5 Valued Member
Hi,
I've been posting here for a few months but I've never given any background or anything.

I have no current injuries. This summer was about finally clearing up lingering injuries from a left shoulder subluxation from July over a year ago. Using swings, TGUs, OS, and correctives from my PT, I haven't had any recurring symptoms of the injury in months.
I am 26, male, 6'0", 150-155lb, under 10% body fat.
There are no natural or functional movements that cause pain for me.
I have not had a recent movement screen. I feel like I move well, and have been told so by PTs (just their observation, not a screen).
I don't compete in any sports. I like to always be ready for a pickup game of basketball, flag football, or whatever may come up.
I'm a college student and I get a lot of walking in around the campus during the day, although I still do a LOT of sitting with classes, commuting, and studying.

Right now I'm working on S&S. I used it as a bridge from my rehab with weights that are below the "average strength" gentleman guidelines in the book. My first "strength" goal coming off of rehab is to hit the "average strength" starting point of the program. My TGU's are there. I was consistently doing 4-6 sessions of 10x10 one arm swings with 16kg with heart rate monitor (180-age +5). I figured it would be a good time to have a form check as I attempt to move up to the next weight. One thing that has happened since trying 24 kg and sometimes 20kg one arm swings, is my knees will have a tight feeling right at the top of shin. Some reps there would be an audible click but that doesn't happen anymore. I've made some adjustments like waiting longer to hinge. I noticed tender spots on adductor longus (although no hip pain that would often accompany trigger points there).
This video is with a 20kg KB.