all posts post new thread

Kettlebell One Arm Swings For Power - Technique Critique Needed

Status
Closed Thread. (Continue Discussion of This Topic by Starting a New Thread.)

Rahul Raje

Level 4 Valued Member
Hi Everyone

I've been practicing One Arm Swings aiming for max power for a couple of months now.

Here's how they look like right now:

Here's other arm:

Among other points of improvement, I'm striving towards deepening my hinge, folding more at the hip, improving my timing of hitting the hip crease with my elbow and packing my shoulder more to disallow the shrugging happening on occasion. I'm sure there are so many other points to be improved and would love to know which ones I should begin with over others.

I welcome your thoughts on polishing it further in my sessions to come.

Do let me know if this got posted in the wrong forum.

Thanks a lot
Rahul

Hi Rahul,

Great choice to post your videos!

I’m sure some certified instructors will give you some great feedback here. My few cents:
- consider practicing dead stop swings for max power production
- can you post your 16kg 1HS and or 24kg 2HS for reference?
- flexed elbows are acceptable, but it seems like it’s holding you back a bit, with this weight
- there is definitely room for more power and more deeper hike pass and hinge
- are you fully comfortable with our surroundings, ie would your swing be more aggressive if you had taken the bell outside?

Hi @Rahul Raje

Technically that's a good swing! But you're correct to focus on power and I think you could get a LOT more powerful.

Can you bring the bell outside to practice throwing it? That's a great way to dial it in! Do a set of swings and maybe on the 3rd of 4th swing, let the handle go and see how far the bell goes. Practice making it go farther, and develop that skill. Then bring that back to your regular swing sets.

Hi Rahul,

Great choice to post your videos!