all posts post new thread

Other/Mixed Organizing strength/hypertrophy/fat loss cycles

Other strength modalities (e.g., Clubs), mixed strength modalities (e.g., combined kettlebell and barbell), other goals (flexibility)
Status
Closed Thread. (Continue Discussion of This Topic by Starting a New Thread.)

Oscar

Level 7 Valued Member
Hi all,

I'm curious on what is the best way to organize cycles of training focused on strength, focused on hypertrophy and then focused on fat loss.

Lets say I'm an amateur, beginner powerlifter, low twenties body fat %. I will need strength focused training, I will need hypertrophy in the right places and I will need to get rid of some fat. I'm focused on long term performance, rather than a meet in 3 months.

I'm also interested on how to cycle eating along with training.

My non-educated guess would be something like:

- follow a program focused on strength with associated hypertrophy. For instance 5 sets of 5 or similar. During this period, eat a lot, gain weight and don't pay much attention to body fat %. If during this period I have to compete in a meet, do it at a heavier category than my ideal one. If I go to the beach, accept that I will be carrying some fat and refrain from breathing when I take off my shirt.

- at a 2nd stage, cycle the training program as per the program requirements or recommendations. In parallel, maintaining the rather heavy weight for the gained muscle to settle.

- at a latter stage, reduce food intake and lean out. I'm not sure what kind of program would best fit during this stage? An hypertrophy program to try to keep the gained muscle (knowing some muscle would be lost)? Or a strength focused program, so that the muscle that is lost is not the one I will need to lift weight?

- at a final stage, close to the target meet, do the typical final weight loss and taper down training.