all posts post new thread

Kettlebell Please critique my swings

Status
Closed Thread. (Continue Discussion of This Topic by Starting a New Thread.)

ChrisD

Level 4 Valued Member
Elite Certified Instructor
Hello Strongfirst community,

I have been following Strongfirst for a while now but am new to the forums.

I've been training with kettlebells for a few years now but I started following the S&S program back in June this year.

I have uploaded a video of me doing 20 x 2 handed swings as well 10 x 1 handed swings for both left and right arms. The bell I'm using is a 32kg. Any feedback, suggestions & critique is appreciated.

Hmm no suggestions whatsoever? I don't know whether to be flattered or worried.... :confused: If I'm missing something in the OP or you guys would like more info from me I am happy to provide.

For my eyes your swing-timing looks not that bad.

Things you should work on:
-lock out posture, stay with your heels on a wall. Brace evrerything up: pull your knee caps up (tighten the thighs) squeze your glutes like hell, brace your abdominals (make the hissing sound), pull your shoulder blades down (activated lats), look straight away. That is almost the feeling you should feel for an instant in the lockout, and should look like, meaning, you tilt your head too much foreward.
- additionally you seem to hyperextend your back a little bit, which indicates me, that you are squeezing your glutes not enough.
- with one arm swings: your shoulders are not really packed, meaning the bell pulls them out of their sockets (lacking lat activation) on the end position, and your upper body is a bit twisted to much when you explode, and I would recommend, to go lighter especially on the one handed version

Hi cjd86

You are doing well with the 32kg swings! I am a newbe so I can't say a lot about your form. I am sure someone with more experience will reply.