all posts post new thread

Old Forum Powerlifting beginnings

Status
Closed Thread. (Continue Discussion of This Topic by Starting a New Thread.)

Siemen

Level 3 Valued Member
Hi all,

After lots of stress in my daily life (very difficult home situation, my mother's sickness etc.) I have lost a lot of my strength, have grown weak, lost weight and some muscle too. All my clothes are getting too big, so I'm getting a wreck.

Now, my girlfriend asked me to please start training again. That was some good advice wich I will listen to. But I need some help from you here for programming etc.

I have never touched a barbell. So I would finally want to start using barbell training. I was thinking about using the three powerlifting movements (squat, bench, deadlift) as my main concern in training. I have a gym where I can go to for barbell training and who can teach me the basics of the movement. Since I'm a student with little time, I want to go only once to the gym and supplement with kettlebell or dumbbell (assistance) training at home. I work on saturdays, wich is heavy work with constant lifting and dragging. I want to be recovered by then and I feel like I recover slowly due to overload of stress, maybe an important item. I do no sports and I want to train just for the sake of getting strong and all it supplements (confidence, good feeling, good health etc.).

My goals are to get a good introduction into powerlifting movements and good strength, with some hopefully attainable numbers:

Deadlift: 2x bodyweight (around 140-145 kg);

Bench: bodweight (70-72kg);

Squat: ? ( I was thinking doing these for reps, to get some meat on the bones, I have no idea what would be attainable for now).

Since I never did barbell training, I have no idea what my 1RM on the lifts is. But starting light would be a great idea.

If anyone can help me, I would be very thankfull.

Don't worry about the 1RM. If you are not competing, there is no reason to even try for one.