all posts post new thread

Bodyweight Principles of ladders for pull up

Status
Closed Thread. (Continue Discussion of This Topic by Starting a New Thread.)

quentin__bsbl

Level 2 Valued Member
Hello I am new to the world of pyramids, ladder. I think I will do the ladders because they look better to me and I can go higher and do another one afterwards and I will have more volume than with a pyramid.

Example: 1 + 2 + 3 + 4 + 5 + 6 + 7 + 8 + 9 + 10 + 9 + 8 + 7 + 6 + 5 + 4 + 3 + 2 + 1 = 100
and
(1 + 2 + 3 + 4 + 5 + 6 + 7 + 8 + 9 + 10) * 2 = 110

So I wanted to make sure I was on the right track.

Number of repetitions: 1-2 before failure?
I am currently 20 so I imagine I will go up to 10 something like that but I will see that with my personal experience.

Rest time:
enough to perform the next set (1-2min max?)

Frequency:
I will go to do it 3x a day (morning-noon-evening) and 5 days a week.

Even though I know it's really personal training, I wanted to make sure I was on the right track and not doing too much / not enough.

What exactly are you trying to accomplish here? What are your training goals?
I’m training for the special Belgian intervention group. So to have a pulling force endure/ force and that it is as functional as possible and also be able to do 30 tractions (personal desire)

Ladders are nice because they can be self-regulating. For instance, if you do 1,2,3,4,5 for two sets, and then can't make the 5 happen on the thrid ladder, you are done. I also like non-sequential ladders, i.e. instead of 1,2,3,4,5 I do something like 1,5,2,4,3. So ladders can also provide a lot of variability within a training session.