all posts post new thread

Bodyweight programming help

Status
Closed Thread. (Continue Discussion of This Topic by Starting a New Thread.)

kb02

Level 3 Valued Member
Hey guys, wanting to change things up a bit and mix in some bw for the new year . I built myself a pull up bar and dip station . I would love to hear some thoughts on how to maybe combine this with some swing\snatches ,getups,and maybe some pistols.Since I'm not very good at putting this together some ideas from instructors would be great!! Thanks All, Kevin

Good if you could post more specifics of what you're doing now instead of just a list of exercises. Good to have some background, too, e.g., past performances, current goals, etc.

-S-

Hello,

@kb02
What do you want to do ? Strength ? Muscular endurance / conditioning ? Do you have any constraints for elbow / shoulder / wrist ?

You can consider PU and dips as antagonists. PU focus on biceps, dips on triceps.

Without any further information it is difficult : EMOM of PU and dips ? Supersets ? The same for pistols and swings ?

Kind regards,

Pet'

I'd consider splitting those exercises into two different workouts.

The pullups & dips will compliment each other and give you a good upper body workout. The pistols could be done either before or after them to create a full body workout if that's what you are after. You could also GTG pistols if you didn't want to do them with an upper body routine.

Pistols are a prime candidate for GTG work as you get an opportunity to do an almost full range rep every time you stand up or sit down. Then you only need to devote a small amount of time to full ROM reps whenever you feel the urge.

The swings/ snatches and TGU's would work well in an S&S format.

Hello,

@kb02
Even if it is challenging, it remains a good calisthenics move : muscle up. It works both a pull, then a transition, then a press. It also strongly involves abs and coordination.

Kind regards,

Pet'