all posts post new thread

Barbell PTTP Bear for a novice with limited time?

Status
Closed Thread. (Continue Discussion of This Topic by Starting a New Thread.)

AndyGog

Level 5 Valued Member
Hi everyone, hoping I can get some advice here.

I'm a 45 year old novice with a history of sitting behind a desk and a lot of walking (which is probably keeping me alive!). I'm 5'9" and 80kg with about 20-25% body fat. I'm looking at starting Power To The People, but I can't commit 5 days a week to it. For the next couple of months I'll only be able to manage 2 days a week (Monday and Thursday), after that I'll be able to go up to 3-4 days (Monday, Tuesday, Thursday and sometimes Friday).

I've read that the bear protocol is for more advanced lifters, but I was wondering whether this would be a good way to increase the volume when I can only lift 2 days a week.

There may be other, more suitable, programs out there but I do like the simplicity of PttP.

My goal is simply to see how strong I can get. I appreciate that sounds vague, but I'm not an athlete just an office worker with a family.

Thanks in advance for any advice.

I think two days a week calls for heavier sessions than PTTP. The Bear is an option but I think maybe not the best one at your stage.

If you're looking for a simple program by Pavel for two days a week there's one told to Dan John and then forward by DJ on his website. It is "minimalist training" so it could suit your taste.

I agree that 2 days a week calls for more than a standard PTTP session. But I wouldn't suggest heavier, if you are starting out. My suggestion would be to use the PTTP guidance to select your weights and then just add a third set, possibly a 4th on that second day.

For example, in my case, my 1RM DL is 275 lb, 5RM 225, so for this I might do (after warm-up sets/reps) 2 x 5 at 180 and then 1 x 5 at 170.

The moderate weights let you really work on your form and get super solid, following all the guidance in PTTP.