all posts post new thread

Old Forum PTTP: Eating and carbohydrates

Status
Closed Thread. (Continue Discussion of This Topic by Starting a New Thread.)

dk

Level 4 Valued Member
I've been doing PTTP (deadlift+bench) for the past 6 months or so (some time off for accidental overtraining and vacation).  Progress is slow but I am making progress. On a recent cycle, I noticed that when I started adding carbs to my diet (keeping the fat/protein intake the same) that I was making a lot more progress. However, I also gained some unwanted fat weight (alongside muscle). Prior to that my progress was very slow and my diet included very few carbohydrates (but tons of fat and protein). So my questions are:

1. Should I be able to continue making progress on my lifts without gaining weight? I'm currently 6'2" 187lbs and my deadlift PR is 315x2 and bench PR is 185x2. I feel that I should definitely be able to lift more at my weight (especially bench) but perhaps I am still too skinny for my height? I would definitely prefer to be <200lbs. The ultimate goal is to be able to deadlift over 500 and bench 315.

2. Assuming that I don't have to gain more weight, do you recommend that I change my diet to include more carbs and less fat? Is there something special about carbs in terms of strength training?

Thanks!

There's not enough history or contextual info here, Dan.  And, nutrition is a very individual thing, not the kind of subject for a general forum.

That said, generally (which may not apply to you):

1) yes, and yes.

2) maybe, and no

-Al

Folks,

Let me clarify the above here ... when I said,  "not the kind of subject for a general forum", I didn't mean general nutrition / biochem questions, I meant individualized and specific approaches.

-Al