all posts post new thread

Barbell PTTP - should the end of the linear cycle be difficult or easy?

Status
Closed Thread. (Continue Discussion of This Topic by Starting a New Thread.)

Tanner01

Level 2 Valued Member
I have recently started my first linear cycle of PTTP (I am a beginner). I have started at a low weight and am working my way up to a new 5RM. I planned on continuing the cycle until I could only get 2-3 reps and then deloading. I am peaking until I hit 2-3 reps because I think I can get the most strength this way which shouldn't be too difficult or taxing since I am a beginner.

My question is about running a linear cycle with peaking. As I understand it, PTTP is about very frequent, moderate intensity workouts where you lift increasingly heavier weights for 5 reps even though you could get 2+ reps more than 5 reps. So does that mean that I should still stop 2-3 reps under what I am capable of when I get to the end of the cycle and peak, meaning that I should only do 2-3 reps when I am lifting a weight I could do for 5 reps as my final workout before deloading or should I push it closer to failure since I will be deloading for a new cycle? I know that in the book it also says that I should take a few days off before starting a new cycle which would allow me to recover from lifting closer to failure in my final workout.

Forgot to mention I am working out every other day, so I will have 4 workouts one week, 3 workouts the next week, 4 workouts the week after that, etc.

I suggest you do like it's written. Always 5 reps until you don't get it. For a beginner it's not so important to do several very hard weeks.

The aim is to get around 15 workouts rising. (Maybe 10 in a linear cycle.) The trick is too start low enough and get the appropriate increment. A wave cycle would be a good option also.

In your plan it will be around four weeks cycle and a good time to deload. Enough "deload" will be to start almost as low as the first cycle.