all posts post new thread

Barbell Pttp vs starting strength for beginner

Status
Closed Thread. (Continue Discussion of This Topic by Starting a New Thread.)
What about 3x3 linear progression approach for beginner, is it possible?
A
Bench 3x3
Squats 3x3
Rows 3x3

B
Press 3x3
Deadlift 1x3

Last edited:
Im just askig does it works, im new to this
I see.

Yes triples will also work . Many people have opined about great results from the grey skull linear progression. It has a variant based on triples which is said to bias your training towards a higher weight, and powerlifting style attributes.

As has been reiterated to me many times.

Everything works, at first. Nothing works for very long.

From all my reading most barbell newbie gains will stop rapidly accumulating at some point around 3-6 months. At which point you'll PR basically every session.

Then you'll have to engage in back off sets and resetting cycles. At which point you'll PR. Every week or so. Then that'll slow down you'll have to reset and wave the loads more and PR every month. Then that'll slow down. And you'll have to reset your waving and cycling and PR once a season. Then once or twice a year. This will take many years to work through.

The loading from triples will enable you to handle heavier loads on your progression, but if you miss out for a week or more you may want to reset by 15-20% or back off 2 weeks or so in your schedule to get back on track. The adaptation of triples will not be quite as long lasting or stable as sets of 5. They'll be identical at first and as you progress they'll start to diverge toward single rep strength properties. If it were me, I'd do 5,3,2 with the weight each session.

But don't listen to others too much.
Let your recovery be your guide.
You figure out what your goals are and keep working towards them.

Last edited:
A
Bench 3x3
Squats 3x3
Rows 3x3

B
Press 3x3
Deadlift 1x3