all posts post new thread

Bodyweight pull up bar equipment

Status
Closed Thread. (Continue Discussion of This Topic by Starting a New Thread.)

wexford

Level 2 Valued Member
I'm doing S&S. Pavel mentions hanging being good in his book. I've been thinking about buying one and I guess others have gone through the process. Seems there is a lot of options out there. I'm a bit space limited. I don't have much wall space but I do have a door going into my man cave which seems to be tempted. The door opens into the room. Above the door I have space for an over the door pull up bar like the rogue jammer and a little bit extra. knocking on the wall above the door inside the room, I think there are 3 studs (wood) there, one in the middle and 2 on either side so that seems promising for at attaching one.

Question is what kind of one I should be considering. I've zero pull up experience. I'm thinking I'd probably start off hanging but would probably use it for pull ups also. I'm in Japan so the market is also a bit different I guess.

The rogue jammer looks nice but perhaps I'd be a fool to get that as with shipping it would be almost $400. Its a straight bar type.

Then there are a few curvy type ones??? Not sure what to make of these? Maybe good, maybe not?
Screen Shot 2022-05-24 at 21.50.58.png

Then there is ones that stick out more... this one, looks to be setup for concrete but I presume I could find a way to attach this over the door also.
Screen Shot 2022-05-24 at 21.56.27.png

Then there are ones something like this.

Screen Shot 2022-05-24 at 22.00.34.png

There seems to be a lot of options out there. I'm thinking a straight bar is best though? Only fancy thing I can imagine doing would be to attach rings for my kinds to play and perhaps one of those bands that helps you reach your first pull up if it turned out I needed that.