all posts post new thread

Bodyweight pullups...getting full range of motion at the top...hints?

Status
Closed Thread. (Continue Discussion of This Topic by Starting a New Thread.)

crazycanuck

Level 9 Valued Member
I normally hang out in my training journal and the kettlebell side of the forum but figure this is the ultimate place to ask....have been working on goal of achieving a pullup someday (female here)

Have been doing dead hangs with overhand grip and scapula pulled in/hollow position for time, and using the underhand grip been practicing slow negatives from the top as well as just staying in chinup position above the bar until almost failure (max time with that has been 36 sec). This has been in the context of a program that is getups/swings on one day, alternating with pulls (doing the aforementioned exercises) and crawling the other day, 5 days a week 10 min allotted time per exercise. I have been doing this for almost 3 months. I did attempt some grease the groove dead hangs with pullup grip on the non-pull/crawl days, several attempts a day spaced well apart, but eliminated that after a few weeks when the upper back started feeling quite weary and was in general feeling a bit underrecovered (also have a fair bit of pulling/transferring/lifting on the job).

Today, attempted a pull with chinup grip and with overhand thumbless grip. For chinup grip, can get eye level to the bar. For overhand grip can get to just a tad past 90 degree elbow flexion and the bar is still a few inches above my head. This was done with no support from the bottom.