all posts post new thread

Kettlebell Q&D as LISS cardio and fat loss?

KCCollins

Level 1 Valued Member
Good afternoon. This is my first post so please correct anything here that is out of place, and thank you for your time.

I’ve bought Pavel’s quick and dead book and love the swings and push-ups protocol there. I was looking for a stand alone minimalist routine i can do 3 times a week that will build general strength and power but i also want to see some fat loss.

I’m an army veteran with terrible knees. I used to love running at a slow pace for many miles but I broke myself and can’t any longer (typing this as i sit at my local VA). I was wondering, does extending the time to 45 minutes to an hour doing Q&D turn it into a type of LISS cardio? I really want to see come fat loss and would like to stick with the push-ups and swings type program. Or are there alterations I should make to accomplish this?

Thank you

First off welcome….

If I remember correctly Pavel talks about Q&D being an advanced programme, suited for instance someone who has completed Simple from S&S. It’s not LISS. Neither is S&S but it might be a better choice for your fitness goals.
If you have dodgy knees consider adding cycling or maybe rowing to achieve the LISS cardio benefits.

For fat loss… I’m afraid you need to look in the kitchen for your best results…

Again… welcome.

As an army veteran myself with a bad hip & bad knee I use this protocol to replace running... I use a slightly lower step height than the article but try simple and sinister 3-4 days a week and 2-3 days a week of this step up protocol

I would think A+A a better fit for a LISS substitute than Q&D. Pavel addresses this in this article and in the Q&A after it.

I really enjoy swings and push-ups. I know shortening the intervals of rest isn’t advised for the benefits inherent in QD, but if there was day a minute or less of rest between each set, that would be closer the mark for LISS am I right?