all posts post new thread

Kettlebell Q&D: Does it make sense to apply the principles to reality-based self-protection training?

Status
Closed Thread. (Continue Discussion of This Topic by Starting a New Thread.)

Norbert

Level 5 Valued Member
Hi guys!

I'm really glad I discovered the Q&D program! And while I'm only in week 4, I've noticed improvements already (more endurance, slightly more strength). I'm happy with it.

Please let me ask a question: I'm a full instructor for a reality-based self-protection style, and in our little school, we're constantly looking for good and solid training based on research. So I'm thinking, would it make sense to apply the Q&D programming to our heavy-bag work?

Right now, we're using something we call "ATP depletion training", and it's extremely taxing on the body and mind: we "pre-fatigue" the muscles with a 10-rep set of pushups, for instance, immediately followed by 5 clapping pushups, and then immediately followed by a set of 10 combos, like 10x3 palmstrikes.

An example "ATP depletion" training looks like this:
  • warmup
  • 10 pushups (2s down, 1s up)/5 clapping pushups/10x3 palmstrikes R-L-R (all back-to-back)
  • 1 minute rest
  • 20 steps duckwalk/5 jumps knee-to-chest/10x (soccer kick L+ soccer kick R + knee L + knee R) (all back-to-back)
  • 1 minute rest
  • 10 pullups/5 clapping pullups/10 x (palmstrike dominant hand+grab w/other hand+3 hammerfists with dominant hand) (all back-to-back)
  • 2 minute rest
  • repeat twice or three times
Our experience with that program is: if you give it your all, it's extremely demanding, and after reading Q&D, I'm not sure it really makes sense.

Would it make sense to use the Q&D format?
Like so:
  • 10–15 secs alternating palm strikes
  • rest till the minute is full
  • 10–15 secs alternating palm strikes
  • rest till the minute is full + 1 minute
  • new set
What are your opinions on this?
Thanks for your help, guys!

Norbert

Hello,