all posts post new thread

Old Forum Question about Bruce Lee

Status
Closed Thread. (Continue Discussion of This Topic by Starting a New Thread.)

dmaxashman

Level 5 Valued Member
I have seen there are a lot of martial arts fans on this board so I want to throw out a couple of questions I have about Bruce Lee.

Did Bruce Lee spar or have fights? How did he do?

Why is Bruce Lee a legend, whereas you have other people for instance Jackie Chan who is also a great martial artist and an actor, who is just famous?

Not being a martial artist myself, I would say Bruce is a legend due to his well documented and demonstrated abilities in the world of mind over body mastery. Overcoming what he did, and accomplishing feats of speed, strength, and precision not to be explained by the knowledge of the day put him in a league of his own. In hindsight and with an expanded awareness of a great many things, its easier now to look back and compare.

He was ahead of his time no doubt. I would recommend the book "The art of expressing the human body" its about his philosophies and ideas about strength training and martial arts. And yes he did fight in competitions and did very well, the book talks about this also its well worth the read.