all posts post new thread

Barbell Question about modified Faleev/Pavel 5x5

Status
Closed Thread. (Continue Discussion of This Topic by Starting a New Thread.)

kikoba

First Post
Long time follower of Pavel, new to these forums.

Some background (skip to Question if you’d rather not ready my story):
My weightlifting journey began as a lanky, hard gaining, 22 year old (now age 42). I had done conditioning, martial arts, and other athletics prior to that, but no serious weight or barbell training. It actually began with Steve Reeves’ “Building the Classic Physique: The Natural Way”, then programs like “Super Squats” and “Rock, Iron, Steel” and I probably read “Keys to Progress” a dozen times in as many weeks. — but I soon found my way to dragondoor.com and PTTP. Pavel reminded me of a childhood mentor (a former Soviet Special Forces martial arts instructor) with whom I studied martial arts — they have the same sense of humor — and the simple, no frills nature of PTTP really spoke to me. I was always more interested in strength over mass (especially as a hardgainer) — though I had much respect and admiration for BBs like Reg Park, Grimek, and Steve Reeves and early physical culturists who were as strong as they looked. Even when religiously following the 20-rep squats and milk program I barely put on mass no matter how strong I got. My hero was Bob Peoples, though. I figured, if a wiry guy like that (at the time, at 6’3” and change, I was 175 lbs sopping wet, at best) could be as strong as that — maybe I had a chance.

Anyway, I went through PTTP as diligently as I could and enjoyed it immensely. I ordered RKC the day it came out and spent a year or two working through every permeation of that I could — kettlebells bring me much joy.