all posts post new thread

Bodyweight Question on periodication

Status
Closed Thread. (Continue Discussion of This Topic by Starting a New Thread.)

alex88

Level 3 Valued Member
Hello comrades,

i read "you are your own gym" recently. The author suggests to combine linear periodization with daily undulating periodization. What is your opinion on the matter?

Do you favour linear periodization? Why?
Do you favour daily undulating periodization? Why
Or even a combination?

I myself mostly followed Pavels plans like GTG or ETK. Therefore I have little experience with this. Any advice would be happily accepted!

Hi Alex,

I would say that both can be good, it actually depends on what you want to achieve.

The important thing that should be remembered is that the stagnation or improvement in sequence methods is determined by the duration of a particular block, its cycle (mainly determined by the number of other cycles and their durations), and the interdependence between abilities.

If the number of abilities that should be developed is way too large, then even the shorter variant will not be enough to allow progression. If the number of abilities is 2–3, then longer variants may also be good. This is because the time between developing a particular ability is too small to induce stagnation or de-adaptation.

I came accross an interesting article on the subject, you can read it here if you want: Overview of Periodization Methods for Resistance Training

I hope it answers your question.

Talk soon,
Matt

@alex88, you've been following some of the best programs around - no reason to reinvent the wheel because you read a book, just keep doing what you're doing.