all posts post new thread

Other/Mixed Relaxed Breath Work Question

Other strength modalities (e.g., Clubs), mixed strength modalities (e.g., combined kettlebell and barbell), other goals (flexibility)
Status
Closed Thread. (Continue Discussion of This Topic by Starting a New Thread.)

Bauer

Level 8 Valued Member
Dear friends of strength,

I like to do relaxed breathing exercises daily, mainly for relaxation and regeneration purposes. Often combined with relaxation practices.

Background: I have been practicing relaxation techniques for more than 15 years now (Autogenic Training, Progressive Relaxation by Jacobsen, Body Scan from MBSR, and other meditation practices like metta or tonglen). I also like to do 3 sets of Wim Hof breathing in the morning. I also know box breathing. And I have read (but not implemented systematically) Oxygen Advantage.

After reading a bit about hypoxic training I have experimented a bit with shortening my inbreath.

My question is: which of the following breath practices is more beneficial for regeneration? (The numbers are my usual ranges)

1. Hypoxic breathing: 2-count inbreath, 1-2 count breath hold, 8-12 count outbreath. One cycle lasts about 12-15 seconds. In to out ratio usually 1:4 to 1:6
  2. Relaxed slow breathing: 6-10 count inbreath, 1-2 count breath hold, 12-18 count outbreath. One cycle lasts about 24-30 seconds. In to out ratio usually 1:2
The first one feels a bit more energizing, the second one more natural.

In essence, what is better in your opinion (maybe even based on attending Seond Wind?): Less breathing cycles or a higher inbreath to outbreath ratio?

I think based on my recollection from Second Wind is that both "less breathing cycles" and "longer exhales" are good. We learned several techniques, but I'd say more were like your second example.